2021 Emmys Winners List: ‘Ted Lasso,’ ‘The Crown,’ and ‘The Queen’s Gambit’ Lead


Even after an eventful Creative Arts Emmys weekend, Sunday night was roughly an even split of sure things and unexpected wins.

Below, IndieWire will be providing live updates of this year’s Emmy winners across all four 2021 ceremonies. The Creative Arts Emmy Awards were given out over three separate ceremonies starting with one on Saturday, September 11 and two on Sunday, September 12. An edited presentation of the Creative Arts ceremonies was broadcast Saturday, September 18 at 8 p.m. ET on FXX. The 73rd Annual Primetime Emmy Awards will take place Sunday, September 19. CBS is broadcasting this year’s ceremony, which will be hosted by Cedric the Entertainer, directed by Hamish Hamilton, and executive produced by Reginald Hudlin and Ian Stewart.

All Creative Arts and Emmy ceremonies will be held on the Event Deck at L.A. LIVE, directly behind the Microsoft Theater. Each ceremony will take place within the flexible environment of the Event Deck’s fully air-conditioned tent. Voting for the 2021 Emmy nominees was held from June 17 through June 28 (with polls closing at 10 p.m. PT). Voting for the Emmy winners was held August 19 through August 30 (with polls closing at 10 p.m. PT). Emmy nominations were announced Tuesday, July 13. (For a full list of nominees, please click here.) For IndieWire’s Emmy predictions, please head to our landing page.

TV’s biggest fortnight has finally come to a close. Over a pair of weekends, the TV Academy bestowed Emmy Awards in a bevy of categories across a handful of different ceremonies, which began with last weekend’s Creative Arts Emmy winners.

This year’s festivities culminated with the 73rd Primetime Emmy Awards, hosted by Cedric the Entertainer. On Sunday night, the final round of awards were handed out in Los Angeles and London. (Limited numbers of nominees and guests attended in person, with proof of vaccination required for all who entered.)

As expected, “Ted Lasso,” “The Crown,” and “The Queen’s Gambit” were big winners in their respective categories, taking home the three series prizes. Though all of the evening’s prizes in the Drama categories went to a single show, there was still a chance for series like “Mare of Easttown,” “Hacks,” and “I May Destroy You” to each take home their share of the night’s top honors. (“Hamilton” somehow snuck its way in there, too.)

What follows is a comprehensive list of awards across all four ceremonies. Winners of juried awards that had already been decided are noted where applicable, with winners in additional categories marked in bold and italics:

Outstanding Comedy Series
“Cobra Kai”
“Emily in Paris”
“The Flight Attendant”
“The Kominsky Method”
“Ted Lasso”

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy Series
Aidy Bryant, “Shrill”
Kaley Cuoco, “The Flight Attendant”
Allison Janney, “Mom”
Tracee Ellis Ross, “Black-ish”
Jean Smart, “Hacks”

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series
Anthony Anderson, “Black-Ish”
Michael Douglas, “The Kominsky Method”
William H. Macy, “Shameless”
Jason Sudeikis, “Ted Lasso”
Kenan Thompson, “Kenan”

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series
Aidy Bryant, “Saturday Night Live”
Hannah Einbinder, “Hacks”
Kate McKinnon, “Saturday Night Live”
Rosie Perez, “The Flight Attendant”
Cecily Strong, “Saturday Night Live”
Juno Temple, “Ted Lasso”
Hannah Waddingham, “Ted Lasso”

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series
Carl Clemons-Hopkins, “Hacks”
Brett Goldstein, “Ted Lasso”
Brendan Hunt, “Ted Lasso”
Nick Mohammed, “Ted Lasso”
Paul Reiser, “The Kominsky Method”
Jeremy Swift, “Ted Lasso”
Kenan Thompson, “Saturday Night Live”
Bowen Yang, “Saturday Night Live”

Outstanding Writing for a Comedy Series
Lucia Aniello, Paul W. Downs, Jen Statsky, “Hacks”
Maya Erskine, “Pen15”
Meredith Scardino, “Girls5eva”
Jason Sudeikis; Story by Brendan Hunt, Joe Kelly, “Ted Lasso”
Jason Sudeikis, Bill Lawrence; Story by Brendan Hunt, Joe Kelly, “Ted Lasso”
Steve Yockey, “The Flight Attendant”

Outstanding Directing for a Comedy Series
Lucia Aniello, “Hacks”
Zach Braff, “Ted Lasso”
James Burrows, “B Positive”
MJ Delaney, “Ted Lasso”
Susanna Fogel, “The Flight Attendant”
Declan Lowney, “Ted Lasso”
James Widdowes, “Mom”

Outstanding Drama Series
“The Boys”
“The Crown”
“The Handmaid’s Tale”
“Lovecraft Country”
“The Mandalorian”
“This Is Us”

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series
Uzo Aduba, “In Treatment”
Olivia Colman, “The Crown”
Emma Corrin, “The Crown”
Elisabeth Moss, “The Handmaid’s Tale”
Mj Rodriguez, “Pose”
Jurnee Smollett, “Lovecraft Country”

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series
Sterling K. Brown, “This Is Us”
Jonathan Majors, “Lovecraft Country”
Josh O’Connor, “The Crown”
Regé-Jean Page, “Bridgerton”
Billy Porter, “Pose”
Matthew Rhys, “Perry Mason”

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series
Gillian Anderson, “The Crown”
Helena Bonham Carter, “The Crown”
Madeline Brewer, “The Handmaid’s Tale”
Ann Dowd, “The Handmaid’s Tale”
Aunjanue Ellis, “Lovecraft Country”
Emerald Fennell, “The Crown”
Yvonne Strahovski, “The Handmaid’s Tale”
Samira Wiley, “The Handmaid’s Tale”

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series
Giancarlo Esposito, “The Mandalorian”
O-T Fagbenle, “The Handmaid’s Tale”
John Lithgow, “Perry Mason”
Tobias Menzies, “The Crown”
Max Minghella, “The Handmaid’s Tale”
Chris Sullivan, “This is Us”
Bradley Whitford, “The Handmaid’s Tale”
Michael K. Williams, “Lovecraft Country”

Outstanding Writing for a Drama Series
Yahlin Chang, “The Handmaid’s Tale”
Jon Favreau, “The Mandalorian”
Dave Filoni, “The Mandalorian”
Misha Green, “Lovecraft Country”
Peter Morgan, “The Crown”
Ryan Murphy, Brad Falchuk, Steven Canals, Janet Mock, Our Lady J, “Pose”
Rebecca Sonnenshine, “The Boys”

Outstanding Directing for a Drama Series
Steven Canals, “Pose”
Benjamin Caron, “The Crown”
Jon Favreau, “The Mandalorian”
Liz Garbus, “The Handmaid’s Tale”
Jessica Hobbs, “The Crown”
Julie Anne Robinson, “Bridgerton”

Outstanding Limited or Anthology Series
“I May Destroy You”
“Mare of Easttown”
“The Queen’s Gambit”
“The Underground Railroad”

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Limited Series or TV Movie
Paul Bettany, “WandaVision”
Hugh Grant, “The Undoing”
Ewan McGregor, “Halston”
Lin-Manuel Miranda, “Hamilton”
Leslie Odom Jr., “Hamilton”

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Limited Series or TV Movie
Michaela Coel, “I May Destroy You”
Cynthia Erivo, “Genius: Aretha”
Elizabeth Olsen, “WandaVision”
Anya Taylor-Joy, “The Queen’s Gambit”
Kate Winslet, “Mare of Easttown”

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Limited Series or TV Movie
Renée Elise Goldsberry, “Hamilton”
Kathryn Hahn, “WandaVision”
Moses Ingram, “The Queen’s Gambit”
Julianne Nicholson, “Mare of Easttown”
Jean Smart, “Mare of Easttown”
Phillipa Soo, “Hamilton”

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Limited Series or TV Movie
Thomas Brodie-Sangster, “The Queen’s Gambit”
Daveed Diggs, “Hamilton”
Paapa Essiedu, “I May Destroy You”
Jonathan Groff, “Hamilton”
Evan Peters, “Mare of Easttown”
Anthony Ramos, “Hamilton”

Outstanding Writing for a Limited or Anthology Series or Movie
Michaela Coel, “I May Destroy You”
Laura Donney, “WandaVision”
Scott Frank, “The Queen’s Gambit”
Chuck Hayward, Peter Cameron, “WandaVision”
Brad Ingelsby, “Mare of Easttown”
Jac Schaeffer, “WandaVision”

Outstanding Directing for a Limited or Anthology Series or Movie
Scott Frank, “The Queen’s Gambit”
Barry Jenkins, “The Underground Railroad”
Thomas Kail, “Hamilton”
Sam Miller, Michaela Coel, “I May Destroy…


Source link